Chennai votes for a change in the government

Assembly elections for five states including Tamil Nadu were held on April 13, 2011. The results were declared on May 13, 2011. The AIADMK party led by the popular actor-politician J. Jayalalitha has won the elections with absolute majority.

Tamil Nadu Secretariat Fort St GeorgeThe votes were counted at three educational institution campuses in the city – College of Engineering, Guindy, Queen Mary’s College for Women and Loyola College.

In Chennai, AIADMK and its alliance party candidates have won 14 out of the 16 constituencies. A 33-member cabinet with Ms. Jayalalitha as the Chief Minister was sworn in today.

The chief minister is also shifting the assembly to Fort St George, which used house the secretariat before the new building on the Government estate was occupied in March 2010.

While Ms. Jayalalitha is an alumnus of Church Park convent in Chennai, R. Rajalakshmi and D. Jayakumar, elected MLAs of Mylapore and Harbour constituencies have studied law.

Know your representatives in the city:

Constituency Name Party
Anna Nagar S. Gokula Indira AIADMK
Chepauk-Thiruvallikeni J. Anbazhagan DMK
Dr. R.K. Nagar P. Vetrivel AIADMK
Egmore K. Nallathambi DMDK
Harbour Pazha. Karuppaiah AIADMK
Kolathur M.K. Stalin DMK
Mylapore R. Rajalakshmi AIADMK
Perambur A. Soundararajan CPI (M)
Royapuram D. Jayakumar AIADMK
Saidapet G. Senthamizhan AIADMK
Thiru Vi Ka Nagar V. Neelakandan AIADMK
T.Nagar V.P. Kalairajan AIADMK
Thousand Lights B. Valarmathi AIADMK
Velachery M.K. Ashok AIADMK
Villivakkam J.C.D. Prabhakar AIADMK
Virugambakkam B. Parthasarathy DMDK

One thought on “Chennai votes for a change in the government

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *