Praise for the brains

MTS Academy (Mylai Thiruvalluvar Tamil Sangam), in association with Nehru Yuva Kendra, Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports, Govt. of India, and BSNL Chennai Telephones, conducted the 14th Summer Arivukkalanjiyam Award 2010 on 11.7.2010 at the MTS Academy premises in Karpagavalli Vidyalaya, Mylapore.

About 30 teachers acted as judges for more than 1000 students who had turned up for participating. Over all 10 competitions such as drawing, singing, oratorical, recitation, thirukkural recitation, essay writing, sakala kala valli maalai, etc. were conducted for school students.

The prizes for the winners of these competitions were awarded during a function held at R.K.Swamy Auditorium, Mylapore on 27th July 2010. The chief guest was Tamil Nadu Minister A.Thamizharasi. The other guests were BSNL General Manager G.Prabakar, Central Bank of India General Manager S.Kannan, BSNL Subdivisional Engineer Ilavarasu, Sanjay Shantha Kumar from Nehru Yuva Kendra, Karpagavalli Vidyalaya Correspondent Keerthivaasan, etc.

The prize distribution function with the Tamil Thaai Vaazhthu. It was followed by Thiruvalluvar Vaazhthu which is being sung in all functions conducted by the MTS Academy since its foundation.

Then Dr. Cheyon, head of MTS Academy and radio station director spoke. He told about the academy. He said that the MTS Academy has so far published 52 books. He also praised the compere, Mrs. Parvathi Gurumurthy, a Tamil teacher of Sir Sivaswamy Kalalaya, who has written a ‘pillaithamizh’ on late Carnatic musician M.L.Vasanthakumari.

The welcome speeches were followed by some winners performing their winning performances in front of the audience. R. Bharathwaj from SBOA School, Anna Nagar, who won the first prize in the oratorical competition, gave his winning speech. Then S.Aparna, from Gopalapuram Girls School, who won the first prize in the singing competition, sang. She was followed by S.Kannan from Space Center School, Sriharikottah, Nellur, who won the first prize in the story telling competition, told his story. Minister Thamizharasi gave a special and inspiring speech.

The much awaited prizes were given away by all the chief guests. ‘Arivukkalanjiyam Award’ was conferred on one winner from each of the three categories. Then the other prizes were given. Five prizes- Arivu malar, Arivukkathir, Arivuththalir, Arivuththulir, Arivuppudhir- were given in each of the competitions.

One thought on “Praise for the brains

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *